Marriage in Hawaii .com is a website with information to help you plan your wedding in Hawaii.
Hawaii-Marriage-License .com has everything you need to know for your Hawaii marrige license.
of the above website links are part of the family of
State of Hawaii marriage requirements
for a Marriage License
Application to marry must be filed with a marriage license agent in the state. The Honolulu marriage license office is located in the State Health Department building:
1250 Punchbowl Street
Honolulu Hawaii 96813
Phone: (808) 586-4545
Monday-Friday 8 am-4pm, except holidays
Both parties to the marriage must appear personally before the marriage license agent.
Proxies are not allowed. Applications may not be mailed in to the agent.
The marriage license is good for 30 days from and including the date of its issuance, after which it becomes null and void.
The license must be used only in the state of Hawaii and is valid throughout the state.
The fee for a license is $60.00, payable in cash at the time of filing the application. This fee excludes the costs of the ceremony and is
Requirements for License to Marry in Hawaii
There are no residence or citizenship requirements.
Age to Marry
is18 years for males and females. However, with the written consent of both parents, legal guardian or family court, the male or female may be married at 16 or 17. Males and females at age 15 may marry with the written consent of both parents or legal guardian and the written approval of the judge of the family court. The parents or guardian do not have to reside in the state. Consent forms may be obtained from the marriage license agent.
A certified copy of a birth certificate must be presented for anyone 18 and under. For anyone 19 and over, proof of age may be requested in the form of an I.D. or driver's license.
Cousins may marry, but a blood relationship between the prospective bride and bridegroom cannot be closer than first cousins (for example: uncle-niece, half-brother-sister may not marry).
For questions about abtaining a Marriage License, call the Marriage License Office, (808) 586-4544. Office of Health Monitoring, Hawaii Department of Health.
A Few Things to Remember...
Both the prospective bride and bridegroom must appear together in person before a marriage license agent to get a license.
A marriage license is issued immediately after the application is made. After being issued, it expires in 30 days.
A Hawaii Marriage License is good only throughout the state of Hawaii.
To marry, males and females must be at least 16 years of age. Males and Females under 18 must have written consent from both parents, legal guardians or family court. Males and females at age 15 may marry with the written consent of both parents or legal guardian and the written approval of the judge of the family court.
Hawaii law allows marriage between one man and one woman.
Marriage performer must be licensed in the State of Hawaii to perform the marriage ceremony.
For someone licensed in Hawaii to marry you, click here.